October 1 shines at the AMVCAs!!!

kunle afo

The long awaited Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards 2015 (AMVCAs) held on Saturday March 7, 2015 at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. In its usual form, it attracted lots of glitz and glam as film makers all over Africa were in attendance. October 1 by Kunle Afolayan dominated the event by winning in 9 categories including the Best Movie for 2014. Following in tow was, Rita Dominic’s The Meeting, which bagged 5 awards. Not left out of the winning streak was Ayo Makun, who bagged the New Era Special Recognition Award for 30 Days in Atlanta.


This year’s event saw fast rising actors Blossom Chukwujekwu and Linda Ejiofor being recognized for their spectacular performances as they bagged the awards for Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress. OC Ukeje shone in this year’s award as he picked up the award for The Best Actor in a Drama, an award he won in 2013.


The late film maker and nollywood veteran, Amaka Igwe was posthumously awarded with the Industry Merit Award which was presented by actor Richard Mofe-Damijo and received by her husband, Charles Igwe. The 2015 AMVCA Trailblazer Award was presented to  CJ Obasi, director of the movie – Ojuju, which won the AFRIFF 2014 Best Nigerian Film Award.

See full list of winners and more pictures after the cut:

Best Actor in a Drama: OC Ukeje for Confusion Na Wa

Best Actress in a Drama: Kehinde Bankole for October 1

Best Actor in a Comedy: Femi Jacobs for The Meeting

Best Actress in a Comedy: Rita Dominic for The Meeting

Best Supporting Actor: Blossom Chukwujekwu for Knocking On Heaven’s Door

Best Supporting Actress: Linda Ejiofor for The Meeting

Best Local Language Yoruba: Faithia Balogun for Iya Alalake

Best Local Language Hausa: Hafizu Bello/Abubakar Bashir for Bincike

Best Local Language Igbo: Obi Emelonye for Onye Ozi (The Messenger)

Best Local Language Swahili: Sarika Hemi Lakhani for Veve

Best Movie (Comedy): Mildred Okwo/Rita Dominic for The Meeting

Best Movie (Drama): Steve Gukas for A Place in the Stars

Best Movie of 2014: Kunle Afolayan for October 1

Best Television Series: Georgia Arnold for Shuga

Best Art Director (Movie/ TV): Pat Nebo for October 1

Best Cinematographer (Movie/ TV): Stanlee Ohikhuare for Verdict

Best Comedy Writer (Movie/ TV): Tunde Babalola for The Meeting

Best Drama Writer (Movie/ TV): Tunde Babalola for October 1

Best Costume Designer (Movie/ TV): Deola Sagoe/Obijei Oru forOctober 1

Best Documentary: Yvonne Bassey for The Gift of the Nile

Best Lighting Designer: Lanre Omofaiye for October 1

Best Make-Up Artist: Sacred (Lola Maja) for October 1

Best Movie Director: Kunle Afolayan for October 1

Best New Media – Online: Imoh Umoren for Hard Times

Best Short Film: Ekene Som Mekwunye for Oblivious

Best Sound Editing: Kulanen Ikyo for October 1

Best Video Editor: Victoria Akujobi for Reflections

New Era Special Recognition Award: Ayo Makun for 30 days in Atlanta

Trailblazer Award: C.J Obasi

Industry Merit Award: Amaka Igwe

kehinde bankole


femi jacobs



IMG_1060.PNG (2)

IMG_1059.PNG (2)

tunde babalola


















Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s